Important Notice Regarding The Lolocaust

Good Morning, I write to you with grave news indeed. The Lolocaust as we know it may soon be coming to an end.

Due to forces outside of our control we may have lost control of the site name (lolocaust.co.uk) and we are left feeling dejected and vulnerable.

When we first got started with a blogger account we never expected to still be writing five years later, but now we have carved a small corner on t’internets for ourselves, and the loss of the name is something that, while not the end of the world as we know it, has left me feeling quite miserable considering the fact that we’ve had the name for a while and we’ve all had it on our web profiles, xbox accounts etc…

At this moment in time we are left with a couple of options, pay about £50 to wrestle back control of the site name – something that I regret to say is out of my reach right now – or give up on the name and register a new one, perhaps WeAreTheLolocaust.com?

Since we lost the access to the name a couple of weeks ago our site traffic has dipped in terms of Google referrals, while visits from links shared on Twitter/Facebook etc have risen. We can only thank you for this, without your help we would be at an all time low, and instead we are feeling cheerful in the face of adversity.

So what now?

To be honest I’m not sure, I’d have preferred to have kept our old site address, but financially it’s just not viable right now, and the timescale provided by the site we registered with is against us. We have – I think – one week to wrestle it back before it goes up for auction. I really don’t want to think about that possibility too much, the idea of someone else having our name is weird and upsetting.

I know it’s just a website, but after being the personification of the site for so long I feel a real attachment to it.

The most likely end result, regrettably, is the potential for a new site address. I’m sure, with time, that I’ll get used to not being ‘The Lolocaust’ as such, and perhaps the new writing team and new found motivation would be marked nicely with a new address, but like I said it’s not my personal preferred option.

Ironic that we’ve been pointing out the path Game is taking to oblivion, while unbeknownst to us we’ve also been on a path to an undesirable conclusion. Time will tell what will happen, I hope we can count on your support either way.

Thanks for all the fish!

7 thoughts on “Important Notice Regarding The Lolocaust

  1. Sorry to hear, do you have Paypal? I’d be happy to send a few bucks if it would help keep the site name. Let me know.

    1. Hi there, thanks for the comment and the offer of support, please understand that it was never my intention to start a begging drive, I just needed to vent about the goings-on in the back of shop.

      While I totally appreciate your offer I really couldn’t ask that of you, no-one should have to pay for this rubbish, lol.

      If you are really set on helping out, you could:
      a) Post our articles on Twitter/Facebook/Passing Tramps
      b) Perhaps send us a reader submission article?
      or
      c) You could send us money to support the site, but again, it’s not something we are asking for, but if you were dead set on it, we’d be daft to ignore the help.

      So yeah, if you are interested in helping in any way drop me an email at bouncybhall at hotmail dot co dot uk.

      Thanks again, it’s comforting to know that there are people out there who are concerned, and enjoy the site. We appreciate that so much.

      BB

    1. I’d happily pay if that was the only option, but at the moment we want to see what other options are available, while at the same time being mindful that we have a deadline to work to.

      I would blame Hock, but to be honest I don’t want to incur his wrath.

      I’d probably end up eviscerated and dumped in a canal.

Leave a Reply

